Joint Media Release Date: 25 March 2024

Ten new Study Hubs for regional Australia

Ministers:

The Hon Jason Clare MP

Minister for Education

Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm

Assistant Minister for Education

Assistant Minister for Regional Development

The Albanese Labor Government today announced the locations of 10 new Regional University Study Hubs across the country, bringing university closer to students living in the regions.

They are:

- East Arnhem Land, Northern Territory
- Victor Harbor, South Australia
- · Warwick, Queensland
- Chinchilla, Queensland
- Innisfail, Queensland
- King Island, Tasmania
- Katanning, Western Australia
- The Pilbara (Tom Price and Onslow), Western Australia
- Central Western Queensland (Longreach, Barcaldine, Blackall, Winton, Boulia, Bedourie, Birdsville and Jundah)
- East Gippsland (Mallacoota, Orbost, Omeo, Heyfield and Yarram), Victoria

The Government is also providing additional funding to two existing Regional University Study Hubs located in:

- Cowra, New South Wales
- Mudgee, New South Wales

These are in addition to the 34 <u>existing</u> Regional University Study Hubs located across the country. The evidence shows that where they are, university participation and completion increases.

The new University Study Hubs are part of the Government's response to the Universities Accord Interim Report.

In total, the Government is investing \$66.9 million to establish 20 more Regional University Study Hubs, and up to 14 new Suburban University Study Hubs in the outer suburbs of our major cities.

Today's announcement is for the first 10 new Regional University Study Hubs.

Applications for the next 10 and for the 14 Suburban University Study Hubs (SUSHs) will open in coming months.

The current 34 Hubs support nearly 4,000 students, studying more than 1,000 different courses, through more than 200 tertiary education providers.

They provide spaces and a range of services to support students, including those from low socio-economic backgrounds, First Nations students and students with disability.

The new Regional University Study Hubs are expected to be available to students over the next 12 months.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education Jason Clare:

"Today, almost one in two young people in their 20s and their 30s have a university degree. But not everywhere. Not in the outer suburbs and not in regional Australia.

"The Universities Accord makes it clear that we need more people from the regions and outer suburbs to get a university qualification.

"I want more young people to get a crack at going to university and we know that postcode is a massive barrier for young people getting that chance.

"The evidence is that where University Study Hubs are, university participation goes up that's why we're announcing 10 new Regional University Study Hubs and there's more to come.

"Bringing university closer to where you live will encourage more people who otherwise might decide not to go to university at all to give it a crack."

Quotes attributable to Assistant Minister for Education and Regional Development Senator Anthony Chisholm:

"People from regional, rural and remote Australia are almost half as likely to obtain a university degree compared to their peers living in our cities.

"The expansion of the Regional University Study Hubs program will remove barriers for more students so they can access a high-quality tertiary education.

"These hubs create a campus-like environment where students can access support, the latest technology and be part of an engaging learning environment to help them achieve their academic goals, without having to leave their community.

"Every student deserves to have access to a world-class education no matter who they are or where they live. The Albanese Government is committed to ensuring access to Australia's universities is fairer and more equitable."